Winners 2016

We returned to Glasgow for the fourth time to celebrate our 21st anniversary and the very best of British urban music at the iconic SSE Hydro. Hosted by Rickie and Melvin in Scottish kilts, we were treated to incredible performances from the likes of Popcaan, Craig David, Lady Leshurr, Professor Green, Chase & Status, Laura Mvula, Fekky & Section Boyz, Anne Marie & Clean Bandit, WSTRN and Izzy Bizu.

Craig David capped a huge comeback year by winning Best Male Act; his first MOBO since 2001. Lady Leshurr scooped Best Female Act and Section Boyz proved victorious as they accepted Best Hip Hop Act after being crowned Best Newcomer in 2015. WSTRN won their very first MOBO for Best Newcomer and Abra Cadabra’s hit with Krept and Konan landed him a MOBO Award for Best Song at the tender age of 17. Nadia Rose joined the likes of Skepta and FKA Twigs to win Best Video and Popcaan took home his second MOBO Award for Best Reggae Act. MOBO’s Music Panel voted Kano as winner in Best Album whereas BBC Radio 1Xtra’s listeners voted Chip winner in Best Grime. We also honoured Nicola Adams with a MOBO: Paving The Way Award for her outstanding achievements in and outside of the ring. 2016 marked our second annual pre-show and this time we raised the stakes with an intimate event at Cadogan Hall in London.

Celebrating artists within the genres of R&B/Soul, Jazz, African and Gospel, winners on the night included Shakka, Esperanza Spalding, Wizkid and Guvna B respectively. Alika was announced as the winner of MOBO UnSung, saying: “This is amazing! MOBO UnSung has been such a great opportunity for me, I encourage all up-and-coming artists to apply next year”.