2002 MOBO Awards

Let’s step back to the 2002 MOBO Awards, hosted by Alesha Dixon and LL Cool J – which saw Ms. Dynamite follow up on her huge UK success with a Best Single gong for ‘It Takes More’, which reached No. 7 on the UK Singles Chart.

Ashanti won Best R&B Act for a huge year in which she featured on Fat Joe’s ‘What’s Luv?’ and Ja Rule’s ‘Always on Time’ –two of the biggest songs of 2002. Best Garage Act went to Mis-Teeq, who were nominated alongside Daniel Bedingfield, Heartless Crew, More Fire Crew and So Solid Crew, with Sean Paul running the Best Reggae Act field with his second album Dutty Rock.

Ja Rule himself took away Best Hip-Hop Act, with Aaliyah winning Best Video for ‘More Than A Woman’ – a track shot in Los Angeles in August 2011, just two weeks before the fateful video shoot for ‘Rock The Boat’. Alicia Keys won Best Album for her sensational solo success Songs In A Minor, which saw her come crashing onto the music scene.

Destiny’s Child’s Michelle Williams’ transition into gospel saw her pick up a Best Gospel Act gong, after releasing Heart To Yours, a solo album including collaborations with Carl Thomas, Shirley Caesar and Mary Mary.

Jimmy Cliff won Contribution To Music while Chaka Khan took away Lifetime Achievement, with special respect paid to Lisa ‘Left Eye’ Lopes with an Outstanding Achievement Award – the American rapper, dancer and singer-songwriter tragically passed away as the result of a car crash in April 2002.

Listen to 2002's MOBO winners in this Spotify playlist:

The winners in full...

Best R&B Act: Ashanti
Best Single: Ms Dynamite
Best Newcomer: Ms Dynamite
Best Reggae Act: Sean Paul
Best Garage Act: Mis-teeq
Best DJ (UK): Steve Sutherland
Best Hip Hop Act: Ja Rule
MOBO UnSung: Street Politics
Best Video: Aaliyah
Best Album: Alicia Keys
Outstanding Achievement: Lisa 'Left Eye' Lopes
Best Producer: Neptunes
Best Gospel Act: Michelle Williams
Best World Music Act: Angelic Kitto
Best Jazz Act: Norah Jones
UK Act of the Year: Ms Dynamite
Contribution to Music: Jimmy Cliff
Lifetime Achievement Award: Chaka Khan